Lot 660, Hay Moulay Rachid, Ben Guerir 43150

Dr. Martin Winter

Dr. Martin Winter



Martin Winter has been researching in the field of electrochemical energy storage and conversion for more than 30 years. His focus is on the development of new materials, components and cell design for lithium ion, lithium-metal batteries and alternative battery systems. Martin Winter currently holds a professorship for “Materials Science, Energy and Electrochemistry” at the Institute of Physical Chemistry at the University of Münster, Germany. The full professorship developed from an endowed professorship funded by the companies Volkswagen, Evonik Industries and Chemetall (today Albemarle) from 2008 to 2012.

Martin Winter is founder and scientific director of MEET Battery Research Center at University of Münster. MEET stands for “Münster Electrochemical Energy Technology “. At MEET, an international team of about 150 scientists, engineers and technicians is working on research and development of innovative electrochemical energy storage devices with higher energy density, longer durability and maximum safety. Since 2015, he is also founding director of the Helmholtz-Institute Münster (HI MS) “Ionics in Energy Storage”, a division of Forschungszentrum Jülich, with about 70 employees. MEET and HI MS are internationally leading institutions in the research and development of innovative electrochemical energy storage systems.

Martin Winter has received more than 50 scientific awards, including the Carl Wagner Memorial Award and the Alessandro Volta Medal of the Electrochemical Society (ECS), the Research and Technology Awards of the ECS and the International Battery Materials Association (IBA), the Federal Cross of Merit 1st Class and the WWU Research Award 2018. He is a Fellow of the ECS and the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) and an elected member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering Acatech. He holds the Faraday Medal of the Royal Chemical Society and the Alessandro Volta Medal of the ECS, as well as the Arfvedson-Schlenk Prize of the German Chemical Society and the Braunschweig Research Prize. He is an honorary professor of National Taiwan University of Science and Technology (Taiwan Tech in Taipei) and National Cheng Kung University (Tainan, Taiwan).